Renewable Energy Reno Style

Today I took a tour of all things renewable in the Reno Nevada area. It was quite a long day but a good experience to see all of the progress that Reno is making. Each of these individual pieces comes together to form the full energy picture for Reno. This list isn’t comprehensive, but it does give a nice look at the spectrum.

To start out my grand renewable tour I headed over the Verdi Hydroelectric Power Plant west of town. This is one of three hydroelectric power plants in the area which total 6.7 MWs. I was amazed to learn that the plant is actually over one hundred years old and it is still running on the original equipment.  When I think about it, it actually frustrates me a little bit to know that we haven’t made very much progress over the last hundred years.  It does show that if it has lasted for 100 years it must make sense, and it probably isn’t just a fad.

After stopping by the hydroelectric plant I stopped by a couple of organizations that are using solar panels to power their internal loads and sell some of the excess energy back to the grid. Both organizations I went to told me that they were negatively affected when NV energy changed its policy on buying back solar.  Neither of the two solar locations were utilizing any storage capabilities, but that is probably because they are primarily open during the daylight hours.

Next on my list of renewable must-sees was the geothermal power plant located at the base of Mount Rose.  That power plant actually produces up to 100 Megawatts of OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPhoto Credit

electricity. A megawatt is enough energy to power about 1000 homes.  All of this electricity gets sold to NV energy and eventually gets passed along to the consumers.

All in all Reno is moving in the right direction when it comes to renewable energy. More cites should take note.  If you think your city has a lot of renewable energy let me know in the comments.

Lead PC: https://www.websitetigers.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/Reno-NV-Website-Design-1600×900.png

Author: evannwarner

I currently work at a geothermal power company as the Asset Manager. Working in this position has given me a deep understanding of today’s current energy market as well as an understanding of how renewable energy fits into the picture. My background is in mechanical engineering which gives me insight into how the technical side of energy generation works. After gaining this valuable knowledge about the current energy market, I am interested in finding ways to improve the situation. I would like to work with new ideas and techniques to make advances in energy generation technology. As part of my quest to find new and better methods for our energy Future, I am also interested in where inspiration for ideas comes from. In particular, finding new applications for existing ideas is a powerful idea in my mind. Some of the great breakthroughs in our society occurred as a result of people thinking of new applications for existing ideas.

Leave a Reply

